Most modern versions of the Bible contain 66 books, 39 in the Old Testament and 27 in the New Testament. Originally, the number of books in the Bible was 49 because the Jews divide the 39 Old Testament books into 22 books by combining several books into one (e.g., they combine the twelve Minor Prophets into one book). The New Testament canon has remained stable at 27 books since early times. A complete list appears below.

Old Testament New Testament
I. The Law I. The Gospels and Acts

1. Genesis

1. Matthew

2. Exodus

2. Mark

3. Leviticus

3. Luke

4. Numbers

4. John

5. Deuteronomy

5. Acts

II. The Prophets

II. The Epistles of Paul

6. Joshua-Judges

6. Romans

7. Book of Kingdoms (I & II Samuel, I & II Kings, considered one book)

7. I Corinthians

8. Isaiah

8. II Corinthians

9. Jeremiah

9. Galatians

10. Ezekiel

10. Ephesians

11. The Twelve (The "Minor" Prophets, considered one book)

11. Philippians

a) Hosea

12. Colossians

b) Joel

13. I Thessalonians

c) Amos

14. II Thessalonians

d) Obadiah

15. Hebrews

e) Jonah

16. I Timothy

f) Micah

17. II Timothy

g) Nahum

18. Titus

h) Habakkuk

19. Philemon

i) Zephaniah

III. General Epistles

j) Haggai

20. James

k) Zechariah

21. I Peter

l) Malachi

22. II Peter

III. The Writings

23. I John

12. Psalms

24. II John

13. Proverbs

25. III John

14. Job

26. Jude

15. Song of Solomon

IV. Apocalypse

16. Ruth

27. Revelation

17. Lamentations

18. Ecclesiastes

19. Esther

20. Daniel

21. Ezra-Nehemiah (considered one book)

22. Chronicles (considered one book)

The church of God does not accept the Apocrypha (the books of Esdras, Tobit, Judith, The Wisdom of Solomon, Ecclesiasticus, the books of Maccabees, etc.) or any other so-called apostolic or early church writings as canonical.